Vascular access


Why SONG-HD Vascular access?

Vascular access complications are a leading cause of hospitalisations in patients on haemodialysis and are associated with increased mortality, morbidity, and cost. Vascular access complications can also be detrimental to the quality of life for patients on haemodialysis.

The aim of SONG-HD Vascular Access is to develop a core outcome measure for vascular access to be used in all trials involving patients on haemodialysis.

SONG-HD Vascular Access Expert Working Group

Carmel Hawley (Chair) | Princess Alexandra Hospital, Australia
Kevan Polkinghorne | Monash Medical Centre, Australia
Charmaine Lok | University of Toronto, Canada
Jan Tordoir | Maastricht University, The Netherlands
Pascal Kopperschmidt | Patient partner, Germany
Raymond Vanholder | Ghent University, Belgium
Rob Smith | Patient partner, Australia
Robert Quinn | University of Calgary, Canada
Theodore You | University of Pittsburgh Clinical and Translational Science Institute, United States
Timmy Lee | University of Alabama at Birmingham, United States
Tushar Vachharajani | Hefner VA Medical Center, United States
Lai-Seong Hooi | Hospital Sultanah Aminah, Malaysia
Li Zuo |Peking University People’s Hospital, China
Andrea Viecelli (Project coordinator) | Princess Alexandra Hospital, Australia

Project updates

1. Review of outcome measures for vascular access outcomes in haemodialysis
A review is now underway to identify, describe and evaluate all outcome measures for vascular access that have been used in clinical trials involving patients on haemodialysis.

2. Survey
An international online survey is now open to identify the vascular access outcomes that are most important to patients, caregivers and health professionals.

3. SONG-HD Vascular Access Consensus workshop
On Friday 18th November 2016 in Chicago, 59 patients, caregivers and health professionals came together to discuss how to “best” measure vascular access in trials in patients on haemodialysis. The attendees reviewed the initial results of the review and survey, and contributed their experiences and expertise, which will inform the selection of a core outcome measure.

Attendees* and contributors: Carmel Hawley (Chair)*, Charmaine Lok*, Eric Chemla, Kevan Polkinghorne*, Lai-Seong Hooi*, Li Zuo*, Raymond Vanholder*, Rob Quinn*, Timmy Lee*, Tushar Vachharajani*, Andrea Viecelli*, Jonathan Craig, Brenda Hemmelgarn, Braden Manns*, David Wheeler, John Gill, Peter Tugwell, Sally Crowe, Tess Harris*, Wim Van Biesen, Wolfgang Winkelmayer, Allison Tong*, Nicole Evangelidis, Angela Ju*, Camilla Hanson*, Emma O’lone*, Benedicte Sautenet*, Bharathi Reddy*, Stuart Sprague, Michelle Josephson*, Adeera Levin, Aliza Thompson, Angela Wang*, Anna Porter*, Brigitte Schiller, David Harris, David Johnson*, Dori Schatell*, Eduardo Lacson Jr*, Elena Bavlovlenkov, Fergus Caskey*, Giovanni Strippoli*, Harold Feldman*, Jan Tordoir, Jennifer Flythe, John Kusek*, Kevin Abbott*, Laura Dember*, Lilia Cervantes*, Louise Moist*, Lynn Poole*, Marcello Tonelli*, Maurizio Gallieni*, Meghan Elliot*, Michael Klusmeyer*, Michelle Robbin*, Miguel Riella, Peter Kerr*, Pietro Ravani, Prabir Roy-Chaudhury*, Ronke Apata*, Sharrilyn Evered, Stephan Segerer, Stephen Fadem*, Stephen McDonald*, Suetonia Palmer*, Tammy Poma*, Vanja Sikirica*, Vivek Jha*, Alison Mayers*, Barry Bell*, David Ennis*, David Mayers*, Donald Walker, Harvey Saver, Harvey Wells, Jane Carter*, Kimberly Hardy*, Mary Ennis*, Metarose Johnson*, Michael Thomas, Nieltjie Gedney, Noah Rouse Jr*, Quinetta Taylor, Sarita Wright*, Uthman Muhammad*, Vanessa McNortan*

Next steps: A draft workshop report will be sent to all attendees and contributors early 2017. The next step is to identify and validate a core outcome measure for vascular access in patients on haemodialysis to be used in all trials.